Board Of Directors



“Investing In Tomorrow” through innovative learning opportunities that advance scientific and environmental awareness.

Executive Committee Chair

Charles C. (Cliff) Bream III
President & CEO, Next Graphite, Inc.

Mr. Bream is a seasoned executive, turnaround expert, and investor with over 25 years of experience leading companies in the telecommunications, computer, office products, and packaged goods sectors. He has managed public and private companies as President/CEO, has served as a senior executive at Fortune 500 corporations, and has worked in environments ranging in revenue from $1 million to over $15 billion. He has considerable Pacific Rim experience and currently serves on two Boards: Xnergy, Inc. (clean tech) and APTA (microelectronics).

Executive Committee

Steve Harris
CIC President; Robert E. Harris Insurance Agency, Inc.

Steve Harris is a career insurance professional that is dedicated to delivering the highest expertise in risk management for client counsel. He has served as President of Robert E. Harris Insurance Agency since 1998 and leads the agency with the same guiding principles that it was founded upon in 1955: integrity, relationships and service.Steve joined the agency in 1991 and successfully diversified the agency’s book of business beyond the real estate sector. Prior to that, he handled one of the largest audit territories in the U.S.

Executive Committee SecretaryChair of Development Committee

Maurice Masson
Masson Family Foundation

Executive Committee Chair of Building and Facilities Committee

Mel Chambers
MLPC Investments, LLC

Mr. Chambers received his undergraduate and graduate degrees in Civil and Enviromental Engineering from Utah State University in 1972. Prior to forming Chambers Group, Inc. in 1978 he specialized as a Principal and co-Principal investigator at the Utah State Water Research Laboratory, Utah State University. He participated in the development and application of mathematical models for the water resource systems, planning, evaluation and decision making.

Executive Committee Chair of Board Governance

Bill Steel
Partner; Samuels, Green & Steel, LLP

Bill Steel is a founding partner of Samuels, Green & Steel, LLP. Working with his law partner Herb Samuels since 1986, Bill and Herb have developed and grown a successful real estate, business and transactional practice with clients that own real estate and that have business interests throughout California.

Executive Committee Chair of Education Committee

Susan Paish
Director & Chief Project Engineer; Boeing

Sue Paish is the Chief Project Engineer for all heritage Boeing and McDonnell Douglas out-of-production airplanes and is responsible for their safety and product integrity. Named to this role in 2015, Sue also oversees product compliance to the regulatory standards and requirements of Boeing and the U.S. Federal Government, and acts as the primary technical interface for the post production fleets with the Federal Aviation Administration and with customers. She also assists in addressing in-service issues with Boeing fleet support chiefs.

Executive Committee

Steve Tappan
President; Tappan Enterprises

Mr. Tappan is currently president of Tappan Enterprises LP, Tappan Investments LLC and Tappan Corporation, real estate management and investment holding companies.  Additionally, he is the majority partner and managing member of Legacy Senior Living LLC and Balsamic Foods LLC.  He serves on the Board of Directors of Chemgineering Holding AG (Chairman), Prochem SA (Vice Chairman), Tappan Corporation (Chairman), IPB SL (Chairman), as well as the Zoological Society of San Diego (Vice Chairman). 

Board Director

James Swenson
Founder; The Swenson Family Foundation

Jim Swenson is a graduate of the University of Minnesota, Duluth, with a degree in Chemistry. His earlier background is in creating “inner layer details” for printed circuit boards. His company, Details Inc., became the fastest quick-turn-around engineering prototype circuit board shop in the United States, with a company client list that included Compaq, IBM, Apple and Motorola, before being sold in 1997

Board Director

Charlie Steinmetz
President; JCA Associates, Inc

Charles W Steinmetz is a real estate investor. Previously he worked for the family company, Tiernay Metals until he sold the Company to Transtar Metals in 1999. Tiernay was the largest distributor of aircraft quality aluminum extrusions in the world. The Company is now owned by Castle Metals.

Mr. Steinmetz is also President of the Steinmetz Foundation that makes grants to literacy and curiosity building educational non-profits in Southern California.

Current Non Profit Boards:

Board Director

Ty G. Rogers, CRPC, CRPS
Senior Vice President, Investments & Certified Plan Fiduciary Advisor; Rogers Group of Raymond James

Ty began his career in the financial services industry in 1990.  Driven with an entrepreneurial spirit, Ty has seen many changes in the business and has successfully adapted his process to meet them.  In 1992, Ty co-founded Amerstock Corporation, a full service brokerage, where he supervised retail operations until its successful merger with Daehan Securities.  In 1999, Ty and his team successfully created and launched E*Trade’s online distribution platform of IPOs with an emphasis on directed shares.

Board Director

Michael Torcaso
Vice President, CIO and CFO; Toshiba America Business Solutions

As vice president, CIO and CFO, Michael Torcaso leads the financial planning and accounting functions at TABS, including all U.S. and Latin America subsidiary operations, as well as applications development and IT infrastructure.  He also oversees leasing internal and external audit coordination, treasury functions and Japan’s Financial Instruments and Exchange Law (J-Sox).   

Board Director

David A. Jochim
Managing Director Professional Services Group; MUFG Union Bank, N.A.

David Jochim is a managing director in Union Bank’s Wealth Management Group.  His team is responsible for delivering custom banking solutions to professional service businesses, including credit facilities, cash management services, investment advisory and investment management products, trust and estate services.    

Board Director

Jill A Tracy
Director of Emergency Services; Southern California Gas Company

As the Director of Emergency Services for SoCalGas, the nation’s largest natural gas distribution company, Jill is responsible for leading emergency planning, training and response efforts for SoCalGas’ natural gas transmission, storage and distribution operations throughout Southern California. Jill has over 20 years of experience in various disciplines in the energy industry.

Board Director

Mayor Debra Lewis

Governmental Representative

Lisa Bartlett
OC Board of Supervisors, 5th District

Chairwoman Lisa Bartlett currently serves as the Fifth District Supervisor for the County of Orange and Chair of the Board of Supervisors. She is proud to serve the 650,000 residents in south Orange County through her role on the Board, in addition to the twenty-two other boards and committees she participates in, including the Orange County Transportation Authority Board of Directors, Transportation Corridor Agencies Board of Directors, CalOptima, Orange County Fire Authority, and the Orange County Local Agency Formation Commission.

Governmental Representative

Paul N. Wyatt
Mayor Pro Tem; City of Dana Point

Paul was elected to the Dana Point City Council on November 8, 2016. Paul is a retired engineering executive. During his 40-year career in computer engineering and robotics he helped launch several successful companies. Most recently he served as Vice President of Software Engineering for a company that designed, built and deployed ocean-going robots to monitor the world’s oceans.